Member Access



Government Affairs

General Assembly Update

February 8, 2012


Just a few hours ago, the Senate Finance Committee voted overwhelmingly to pass SB 631 introduced by Senator Watkins (R-Chesterfield).  SB 631 provides for an annual indexing of the gas tax based on the increase in the cost of highway construction materials.  VTCA drafted and worked with Senator Watkins to introduce SB 631.  In his presentation to the Committee, Senator Watkins said that indexing was not enough to fix the transportation funding problem, but that it would go a long way in stopping the bleeding from the Transportation Trust Fund.

The two Senators voting against SB 631 were Newman (R-Lynchburg) and McDougle (R-Hanover).

The bill will now go to the full Senate. While the outcome of the bill in the House is questionable, it is critical that we get the bill out of the full Senate.

Please contact your Senator and let them know you want them to support SB 631.  Contact information for Senators is linked below. 

George L. Barker
Richard H. Black
Harry B. Blevins
Charles W. Carrico, Sr.
Charles J. Colgan
R. Creigh Deeds
Adam P. Ebbin
John S. Edwards
Barbara A. Favola
Thomas A. Garrett
Emmett W. Hanger, Jr.
Mark R. Herring
Janet D. Howell
Mamie E. Locke
L. Louise Lucas
David W. Marsden
Henry L. Marsh III
Stephen H. Martin
Ryan T. McDougle
A. Donald McEachin
Jeffrey L. McWaters
John C. Miller
Yvonne B. Miller
Stephen D. Newman
Thomas K. Norment, Jr.
Ralph S. Northam
Mark D. Obenshain
J. Chapman Petersen
Phillip P. Puckett
Linda T. Puller
Bryce E. Reeves
Frank M. Ruff, Jr.
Richard L. Saslaw
Ralph K. Smith
William M. Stanley, Jr.
Walter A. Stosch
Richard H. Stuart
Jill Holtzman Vogel
Frank W. Wagner
John C. Watkins