Member Access



Government Affairs

General Assembly Update

February 23, 2013

VICTORY: Senate Approves Transportation Funding Bill

Late this afternoon, the Senate approved, by a vote of 25-15, the Conference Committee Report on the transportation funding bill, HB 2313.

Speaking in favor of the bill were Senators: Stosch, Watkins, Wagner, Howell, Saslaw, Carrico, Miller, Marsden, Favola, Norment, and Alexander.

Speaking against the bill were Senators: Petersen, Ebbin, and Smith.

Voting for the bill were Senators: Alexander, Barker, Blevins, Carrico, Colgan, Deeds, Edwards, Favola, Herring, Howell, Locke, Lucas, Marsden, McEachin, McWaters, Miller, Norment, Northam, Puckett, Puller, Ruff, Saslaw, Stosch, Wagner, and Watkins.

Voting Against the bill were Senators: Black, Ebbin, Garrett, Hanger, Marsh, Martin, McDougle, Newman, Obenshain, Petersen, Reeves, Smith, Stanley, Stuart, and Vogel.

Over the next four weeks we will be working with the Governor’s staff on any technical amendments that may be necessary on the bill. Those amendments will be sent to the General Assembly for consideration (up or down vote) at their Reconvened Session on April 3rd.